Nine Inch Nails, Doobie Brothers and Notorious B.I.G. Among the Acts to Be Inducted Into the Rock Hall in 2020

Whitney Houston, T. Rex and Depeche Mode will also be part of the RRHoF Class of 2020

click to enlarge Nine Inch Nails - Al Pavangkanan (CC-by-2.0)
Al Pavangkanan (CC-by-2.0)
Nine Inch Nails

Earlier today, the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame officially announced this year’s inductees, and Nine Inch Nails, the Notorious B.I.G., Whitney Houston, Depeche Mode, the Doobie Brothers and T. Rex all made the cut.

Additionally, Jon Landau and Irving Azoff, two managers and music executives, will receive the Ahmet Ertegun Award.

Kraftwerk, MC5, Motörhead, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, Todd Rundgren, Soundgarden, Thin Lizzy, Pat Benatar, Judas Priest and the Dave Matthews Band were also on the shortlist of nominees for this year but didn't make the final cut. On the Fan Vote ballot, Matthews and Co. scored the most votes (followed by Pat Benatar), but it apparently wasn't enough to earn them induction. It marks the first time the Fan Vote winner didn't get into the Rock Hall in the year they won the poll since it was introduced in 2013.

The 35th-annual induction ceremony will take place on May 2 at Public Auditorium in Cleveland, and the proceedings will air live on HBO this year for the first time. A week of festivities in Cleveland will precede the May 2 induction ceremony.

Tickets for the ceremony go on sale Feb. 27 via

Watch the inductee announcement — and a few clips of this year's class in action — below:

Scroll to read more Music News articles


Join CityBeat Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.