The Black Crowes Reschedule 'Shake Your Money Maker' 30th Anniversary Riverbend Tour Stop for 2021

Brothers Rich (guitar) and Chris (vocals) Robinson reconciled their sibling rivalry and reunited for the anniversary tour, which will now stop in Cincinnati in August 2021

(L to R): Rich and Chris Robinson - Photo: Josh Cheuse
Photo: Josh Cheuse
(L to R): Rich and Chris Robinson

This year marks the 30th anniversary of The Black Crowes' breakthrough album, Shake Your Money Maker. To mark the occasion, brothers Rich (guitar) and Chris (vocals) Robinson announced a reunion and world tour for 2020.

But COVID-19 had other plans.

The original Aug. 20 stop at Cincinnati's Riverbend Music Center has been canceled and rescheduled for Aug. 3, 2021.

On Twitter, the band said: "Please hold on to your tickets as they will be valid for the new dates. The whole band can’t wait to play rock ‘n roll for y’all. Until then, be well and stay safe." 

About the original reunion tour, Chris Robinson said in a press release: "I'm thrilled & blessed to be playing with my brother celebrating the music we've made & bringing our lives together full circle. Long live Rock n' Roll & The Black Crowes!"

"First and foremost, I'm really happy to have my brother back in my life," Rich added. "To be able to play music again together and celebrate the first record we made as kids, is a gift. To have these songs stand up after 30 years is something I could've never fathomed."

On social media, the band said they'd be playing Money Maker in its entirety, "plus all the hits."

The brothers' volatile relationship is among the most legendary in the rich history of Rock & Roll sibling rivalries.

And while the Robinsons are back in action together after multiple years apart, the upcoming tour is not actually a Black Crowes reunion. No other members of the Money Maker lineup — or any previous lineup— are participating. In fact, the rest of the band for the tour will be all new members. According to Rolling Stone, the brothers will be joined by guitarist Isiah Mitchell, bassist Tim LeFebvre, keyboardist Joel Robinow and drummer Ojha.

Scroll to read more Live Music articles
Join the CityBeat Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state.
Help us keep this coverage going with a one-time donation or an ongoing membership pledge.


Join CityBeat Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.