Ohio Political Officials React to Violence at U.S. Capitol

Federal lawmakers were debating the certification of the Electoral College count when demonstrators made it past police barricades to storm the Capitol Building.

click to enlarge U.S. Capitol - Photo: visitthecapitol.gov
Photo: visitthecapitol.gov
U.S. Capitol

A number of Ohio officials have condemned the violent protests Wednesday at the U.S. Capitol in Washington, D.C.

Federal lawmakers were debating the certification of the Electoral College count when demonstrators made it past police barricades to storm the Capitol Building.

Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine called the events “an embarrassment to our country.”

“This must stop immediately,” the governor’s statement continued. “(President Trump) should call for the demonstrators to leave our Capitol Building. The final step in the constitutional process of electing our president has been disrupted. The stopping of the count of the Electoral College votes has occurred because the security of the U.S. Capitol has been breached by a violent mob. As a nation of laws, this is simply not acceptable. Lawlessness is not acceptable. This is an affront to our Constitution and everything we hold dear. Those who breached the Capitol breached the Constitution. Peaceful demonstrations outside the Capitol are an exercise of the demonstrators’ First Amendment rights. Stopping the constitutional process by which we elect the president is not.”

More reactions:

Ohio Lt. Gov. Jon Husted:

Ohio Republican Party Chair Jane Murphy Timken:

House Minority Leader Emilia Strong Sykes:

Ohio Democratic Party Chair Rhine McLin:

“President-elect Joe Biden is absolutely right: the words of a president matter. For too long, this president’s words have fanned the flames of hatred, chaos and racism, and for four years, Ohio Republicans have cheered him on or shrugged their shoulders and pretended to be ‘late for lunch.’ We join President-elect Biden in calling on the president to go on national TV immediately, condemn the violence and demand that his supporters end their seditious attack on the U.S. Capitol. We will continue to pray for our nation and for our nation’s leaders.”

U.S. Attorney David DeVillers of the Southern District of Ohio:

Republican U.S. Sen. Rob Portman:

Democratic U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown:

Ohio House Assistant Majority Whip Cindy Abrams, R-Harrison:

Ohio Senate Pro Tempore Jay Hottinger, R-Newark:

Ohio Attorney General Dave Yost:

Ohio Secretary of State Frank LaRose:

Ohio Rep. Thomas West, D-Canton, president of the Ohio Legislative Black Caucus:

U.S. Rep. Steve Chabot, R-District 1:

This story was originally published by the Ohio Capital Journal

Scroll to read more News Feature articles
Join the CityBeat Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state.
Help us keep this coverage going with a one-time donation or an ongoing membership pledge.


Join CityBeat Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.