After Special Election Hijinks, Greater Cincinnati Candidates Are Ready to Square Off in November

Both Democratic and Republican candidates have earned hefty endorsements.

Aug 2, 2022 at 11:58 pm
click to enlarge November's general election in Ohio could have sparks. - Photo: Edmond Dantès, Pedels
Photo: Edmond Dantès, Pedels
November's general election in Ohio could have sparks.

Some winners have emerged among the chaos of Ohio's wacky special primary election on Aug. 2.

Earlier this year, a Republican-led commission redrew the boundaries of Ohio's House districts in an ongoing, dramatic redistricting battle. Many of the ensuing boundary maps repeatedly were rejected by the Ohio Supreme Court as being unconstitutional for unfairly favoring Republicans. The August primary for House seats originally was to be held in May, with several legal skirmishes postponing it. Though the maps were unconstitutional, a federal court eventually declared that Ohio must use them for the rescheduled special election due to timing, but the state is required to pass fairer maps before the 2024 election. However, the ramifications of voting within the current redrawn – and, many say, unfair – boundaries in districts throughout the state will affect elections and priorities for years to come.

These are the Hamilton County races that have been called as of 11:45 p.m. Aug. 2 (As of press time, Eastern Hamilton County's District 27 still is too close to call).

District 24 — Cincinnati

Democrats have chosen Dani Isaacsohn over Dale Mallory to advance to the November election for the state's 24th district. Isaacsohn received 82% of the vote with 99% of precincts reporting as of press time. He attended Walnut Hills High School, is endorsed by Cincinnati Mayor Aftab Pureval, Hamilton County Sheriff Charmaine McGuffy and Hamilton County Commissioner Denise Driehaus, among others. Isaacsohn's campaign website notes he is in favor of universal childcare, "common sense approaches" to gun laws and reproductive freedom access. In November, Isaacsohn will face off against moderate Republican candidate Adam Koehler, who describes himself as “fiscally conservative but socially conscience" on his campaign website.

District 28 — Northern Hamilton County

Republican voters selected Chris Monzel over Kim Georgeton. Monzel received 59% of the vote with 99% of precincts reporting as of press time. A former aerospace engineer, Monzel served as a Hamilton County Commissioner for multiple terms until 2018. In November, he will seek to unseat Democrat opponent Representative Jessica E. Miranda, who is serving her second term and is one of three primary sponsors on the Enact Ohio Equal Pay Act, a bill to address wage disparities within Ohio.

District 30 — Western Hamilton County

Republican voters have again chosen current seat holder Bill Seitz to represent them in the race for the 30th district of the Ohio house. Seitz beat out Angela S. Hymer with more than 80% of the vote with 99% of precincts reporting as of press time. Seitz has held the seat since January, 2017 and championed gutting Ohio's clean energy standards in the state's 2019 coal and nuclear bailout law. Seitz will take on DemocratAlissa Mayhaus, a University of Cincinnati graduate living in Green Township. She does not have an issues page on her campaign website, but she has received an endorsement from the Ohio Environmental Council Action Fund.

All Ohio election results are preliminary until certified. As the presumed party winners, the candidates above will face off in the general election on Nov. 8. For election results and information, visit Ohio's secretary of state website.

Stay connected with CityBeat. Subscribe to our newsletters, and follow us on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Google News, Apple News and Reddit.

Send CityBeat a news or story tip or submit a calendar event.